About Kurt

World War II veteran, pacifist, satirist, humanist, environmentalist, visual artist, internationally acclaimed writer and Hoosier, Kurt Vonnegut is one of the most influential American writers and thinkers of the 20th century. Vonnegut’s work shakes traditional values, while offering offbeat and time-warping, alternative views of life. His bold commentaries on religion, war, the so-called establishment and mortality are woven into stories that challenge readers to examine their own values, inspiring philosophical discussions amongst family, friends, and Vonnegut fans everywhere.

Kurt Vonnegut’s literary legacy provides the building blocks upon which the Kurt Vonnegut Museum and Library (KVML) stands: We can make a difference by our responses to the big questions and issues of our time, and we can do it with civility. The KVML provides a forum for dialogue and reflection, asking its visitors to contemplate the realities of war delivered via the gifts of Kurt’s wry, Midwestern humor and unfiltered presentation. A cultural and educational resource, museum, art gallery and gathering space for readers, writers, artists, and students, the Kurt Vonnegut Museum and Library honors Vonnegut and his dual legacies of creativity and civil discourse. Since its founding in 2009, over 200,000 people have visited or participated in arts and humanities programs.

Kurt's Writings


Player Piano (1952); pub. as Utopia 14 (1954); repub. as Player Piano (1966)

The Sirens of Titan (1959)

Mother Night (1961)

Cat’s Cradle (1963)

God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater, or Pearls Before Swine (1965)

Slaughterhouse-Five, or The Children’s Crusade: A Duty-Dance with Death (1969)

Breakfast of Champions, or Goodbye Blue Monday (1973)

Slapstick, or Lonesome No More (1976)

Jailbird (1979)

Deadeye Dick (1982)

Galápagos: A Novel (1985)

Bluebeard (1987)

Hocus Pocus (1990)

Timequake (1997)


(Short fiction, essays, etc.)

Canary in a Cathouse
Welcome to the Monkey House: A Collection of Short Works (1968)
Wampeters, Foma, and Granfalloons (1974)
Palm Sunday: An Autobiographical Collage (1981)
Nothing Is Lost Save Honor: Two Essays (1984)
Fates Worse than Death : an Autobiographical Collage of the 1980s (1991)
Bagombo Snuff Box: Uncollected Short Fiction (1999)
God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian (1999)
A Man Without a Country: A Memoir Of Life In George W. Bush’s America (2005)
Armageddon in Retrospect (2008)
Look at the Birdie: Unpublished Short Fiction (2009)
While Mortals Sleep: Unpublished Short Fiction (2011)
Kurt Vonnegut: The Cornell Sun Years 1941-1943 (2012)*
We Are What We Pretend to Be: The First and Last Works (2012)*
Kurt Vonnegut: Letters (2012)*
Sucker’s Portfolio: A Collection of Previously Unpublished Writing (2013)*
If This Isn’t Nice, What Is? Advice for the Young (2013)*

*Published after Kurt Vonnegut’s death


Penelope (1960), revised as Happy Birthday, Wanda June (1970)
Fortitude (1968)
Between Time and Timbuktu, or Prometheus-5: A Space Fantasy (1972)
Make Up Your Mind (1993)
Miss Temptation (1993)
L’Histoire du Soldat, adaptation (1993)


Like Shaking Hands with God (1999), a conversation between Kurt Vonnegut and Lee Stringer
Sun Moon Star
(1980), Kurt Vonnegut and Ivan Chermayeff

Interested in owning any of Kurt Vonnegut’s published works?