Kurt Vonnegut Humor Award

The Kurt Vonnegut Humor Award is reserved for recipients with an offbeat, acerbic wit who possess a keen eye for the absurdities of life – much in the vein of Vonnegut himself.

2019: Scott Long

2018: Leonard Hoops
2017: Mike Birbiglia
2016: Peter Sagal
2015: Jimmy Kimmel
2014: Alec Baldwin

Kurt Vonnegut Common Decency Award

In 2017, KVML began the Kurt Vonnegut Common Decency award, a new award highlighting people who have affected their communities in a positive manner.

2019: Kimbal Musk
2018: Dr. Vivek Murthy
2017: Joyce Sommers

Kurt Vonnegut Cuisine Award

New for 2019, the Kurt Vonnegut Cuisine Award is one way we are celebrating the 50th anniversary of Slaughterhouse-Five! This award is given to a restaurant that helps celebrate Vonnegut’s legacy through food.

Shortridge High School Writing Scholarships

We honor those students from Vonnegut’s Shortridge High School who receive the Kurt Vonnegut Writing Award and the Jane Cox Vonnegut Writing Award each year. These scholarships of $1,000 each are provided by the children of Kurt Vonnegut.

Kurt Vonnegut Writing Award

2019: Corbin Katner
2018: Chinyelu Mwaafrika
2017: Andrew Gomes

Jane Cox Writing Award

2019: Lucy Pickett
2018: Marysa Pike
2017: Arrine’ McCaw